SBN’s first “Stakeholder of the Year” award is presented to Republic Parking System in recognition of the company’s significant parking improvements at the airport over the past two years. SBN honors individuals in the fire, police and EMS fields with the creation of the William T. Schmidt Lifetime Education and Achievement Award. Schmidt was a consultant for SBN on aircraft rescue and firefighting matters for several years up to his passing in 1994. The inaugural Schmidt Awards for 2005 and 2006 are presented, respectively, to Lt. Keith Schweizer of the South Bend Police Department and Chief Luther Taylor of the South Bend Fire Department.